[The CLSG]
[Subscriptions]
[Conference]
[Video conference 2020]
[Conference booking]
[Conference leaflet]
[Conference Bibliography]
[Corpus Christi College, Oxford]
[Recent conference]
[Previous conferences]
[2020 papers]
[Journal: The Glass]
[Reading Room]
[Links]
[Publications]
CLSG-logo-4-web

Heaven and Nature

Saturday 7 November 2020
virtually at Corpus Christi College, Oxford

It seems  likely that continuing pandemic restrictions on travel and meetings will cause us to hold a video conference for 40 people virtually at Corpus Christi College, Oxford.

We are extending the deadline for the Call for Papers from 31 May to 30 June. Proposers of papers may wish to know what is planned, and if they decide to proceed, send an email by 30 June to Dr Roger Kojecky (secretary@clsg.org) .Your proposal should give a provisional title, should state in about 150 words how you will tackle your topic, and in up to 100 words give information about your background.

If for any reason you do not wish your paper to be considered for publication in The Glass you need to say so at the time you submit your proposal. We will respond in July to say whether the proposal for your paper of up to 4,000 words has been accepted. We shall favour proposals which relate to the topic as described, and accord with our strapline Exploring Christian and Biblical themes in literature.

In your email state whether, if your offer of a paper is declined, you will wish to register in October for the conference and attend the Zoom discussion on 7 November.

Take part without giving a paper:
Apply by email on either of two days 19 or 20 October to take part in the video conference ‘Heaven and Nature’. Because we may not have room for all, we invite those interested to apply rather than make an actual registration three weeks before the conference. State that if you receive contributors’ conference papers, you will respect the authors’ rights, and that you will not forward or make further use of conference papers without the permission of the author. Use this form of words.

Optionally, give a word or two in your application about your background or interest, and say if you are a current member.

You will be asked to pay 5 e.g. by PayPal only after we have accepted your application. Registration occurs on receipt of your registration fee. The Zoom joining details will be sent shortly before the conference to those who have successfully registered. You will receive PDFs of the papers on condition that you have agreed at the time of your application to respect the authors’ rights as above.

Please do not send money unless you have been accepted. We will not send joining details to those who have not been accepted, and we will not refund money sent without prior acceptance.

We plan to distribute the papers on 26 October, and on 7 November up to 40 participants will take part in the virtual conference by Zoom. The start time is likely to be 13.00 GMT which is 14.00 in Paris, 8.00 in New York, 05.00 in California, 21.00 in Beijing and midnight in Sydney. The duration will depend on the number of papers and amount of discussion. There will be two sessions separated by a break, and we’ll aim to finish by 18.00.

We wish to strike a balance between UK and international participants, meaning that it’s possible that not all who apply to give a paper, or who apply by 20 October simply to discuss the papers with others, will have their paper accepted or obtain registration. Current CLSG members will be given priority.

 

The Christian Literary Studies Group in association with the Universities and Colleges Christian Fellowship

uccf:thchristianunions